Nasarawa Amazons’ Chairperson Dedicates Media Award To Governor Sule, Supporters


Chairperson of elite Nigerian Women’s Football League club, Hajiya Hussaina Suleiman Nagogo, on Monday, 28th March, 2022, was conferred with an “Award of Excellence” by the leadership of SWAN SELECTED, a Group made up of renowned Professional Sports Journalists in Nigeria.

The award was presented to the purpose-driven and versatile club administrator during a novelty football match between the body and SHEHU DIKKO & FRIENDS decided at the FIFA Goal Project Football Field, Package ‘B’, Moshood Abiola National Stadium, Abuja, to herald the final leg for the Qatar 2022 FIFA World Cup Qualifier between Nigeria and Ghana on Tuesday, 29th March, 2022.

According to the leader of the Group and Media Officer of Nigeria’s U-20 National male youth team, Andrew Randa, the award was in recognition of the numerous contributions and exceptional track records of Hajiya Hussaina to the growth and development of women’s football in Nasarawa State, North-Central Zone and Nigeria as a whole, adding that it was equally to spur her to do more for the game.

Randa noted that Hajiya Hussaina became the first female recipient of the award in Nigeria in the history of the Group, calling on women in sports to emulate her administrative acumen in order to give the female folks major place in the Nigerian sports space.

In her reactions, an overwhelmed Hussaina thanked SWAN SELECTED for the recognition.

“I am so elated to be honoured by you, even though I don’t think I have done enough for the sport to deserve this mind-blowing award.

“We are in a society where women’s participation in sports is seen as a mirage or abomination, whether through cultural or religious settings.

“But with this honour done to me today, I feel there is a huge positive improvement on this notion, and it’s encouraging because it gives us, the women, a huge sense of belonging and adaptation.”

The Chairperson who is also the Secretary-General of the Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership Club Owners Association, while dedicating the award to the Executive Governor of Nasarawa State and critical stakeholders of the game, assured that she would continue to do her best to take Nasarawa Amazons as well as women’s football to the next level.

“The achievements that led to my recognition today could not have come handy if the Governor of my dear State, His Excellency, Engr. Abdullahi Sule, had not given me and the team the fullest support to thrive.

“The Governor is a father who wants the best for his children, and this, he demonstrates without any preconditions attached.

“We owe the Governor a whole lot for reposing uncommon confidence in us. I must say we have never had it this smooth-sailing since the creation of Nasarawa State.

“We will continue to do our best to reward his confidence and huge investment in us and club.

“For our supporters and all those who daily inconvenience themselves for our sakes, we thank you so much. We will not disappoint you as you keep showing your solidarity to us.”

Hajiya Hussaina Suleiman had led Nasarawa Amazons to two league titles, two Aiteo Federation Cup trophies and several runners-up status, making the team the first from Northern Nigeria to attain such feats.

Other award recipients were Mallam Shehu Dikko (2nd Vice President, Nigeria Football Federation and Chairman, League Management Company, LMC) and Immediate past President of Nigeria Shooting Sport Federation, Brigadier General Lonsdale Adeoye(Rtd).

With the 2021/22 abridged Nigeria Women’s Football League Premiership Season edging towards the Super Six category, Nasarawa Amazons are currently occupying the 2nd position on the league table with 24 points following their recent 1-0 away win against Adamawa Queens, two points behind leaders, Edo Queens, but are determined to win their third league title.

The SWAN SELECTED versus SHEHU DIKKO FRIENDS novelty football match ended 1-1 apiece with Mallam Titiloye Kumbi(Chairman, Kwara United FC) scoring for the veterans while Jesse Adams drew level for the sports journalists.