NWFL Set To Kickoff On December 8 As Falode Urge Clubs To Complete Registration


The Chairperson of the Nigeria Women Football League, Aisha Falode, at the weekend tasked clubs in the NWFL Premiership to ensure they beat the November 25, 2021 deadline to perfect their registration for the 2021/2022 NWFL Premiership season.

Falode noted that:  “Though the majority of the 14 clubs in the NWFL Premiership have registered officially for the new season which kicks off on December 8, 2021, only six out of these have completed their registration for the new season.”

She added that, the six clubs mentioned have aside from paying their registration fees to play in the new season, have gone ahead to complete their club licensing registration, which makes their registration for the new season complete.

She stressed that: “The remaining eight clubs yet to complete their registration have uptil 12 midnight of November 25 to complete their registration.

Aisha Falode, Chairperson of the Nigeria Women Football League (NWFL)

“The erring clubs should also note that, if their club licensing process is not completed on or before November 25th, their clubs will be compelled to pay a fine of N400,000 which must be paid before the registration is classified as complete and the club (s) allowed to play.

“Defaulters will not be allowed to play in the league until they perfect all due diligence,” Aisha Falode, who is also a board member of the Nigeria Football Federation said.

The 2021/2022 NWFL Premiership season will kick off on December 8, 2021 at all designated venues across the country, with the fixtures between Delta Queens of Asaba and Rivers Angels of Port Harcourt picked as the official opening ceremony for the NWFL Premiership season.

The 2021/2022 season as agreed by the NWFL Congress held in Lagos will dove tail into the Super Six to decide the champion of the season and also Nigeria’s representative to the second edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League. States willing to host the 2021/2022 NWFL Super Six are free to indicate interest to the NWFL Secretariat in Abuja.

Rivers Angels of Port Harcourt, are the defending champions after winning the Super Six played at the Dipo Dina International Stadium, Ijebu-Ode. The Angels also represented Nigeria at the inuagural edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League 2021 won by Mamelodi Sundown Ladies of South Africa.