NVBF Invites 23 Players For African U21 Women’s Nation’s Championship


The Nigeria Volleyball Federation has invited 23 players ahead of the African U21 Women’s Nation’s Championship in Tunisia.

According to Confederation of African Volleyball (CAVB), the African U21 Women’s Nation’s Championship is hold from 26th August to 5th September in Tunis, Tunisia.

The Nigeria Volleyball Federation revealed that players were drawn from the Nigeria Volleyball Premier League, National Division 1 League and non league teams.

The National U21 Women’s team have been camped for a month at the Ahmadu Bello Stadium (ABS) in Kaduna before the announcement of the venue for the Nation’s Championship.


The board of Nigeria Volleyball Federation approved the appointment of Ex International, Rakiya Mohammed as the Head Coach while Dennis Eleri is the Assistant Coach.

Mohammed who doubles as coach of Plateau Rocks said the best players will be selected to represent the country at the Nation’s Championship.

The former U19 Assistant Coach revealed that the country has lots of young players who can make the country proud.

She said, “I am a product of underage championship in Nigeria and Africa; I know the essence of the U21 African Nation’s Championships. The coaching crew will select the best hands in camp when the championship proper is near.

“I want to appreciate the members of the Nigeria Volleyball Federation for finding me worthy to handle the National U21 Women’s Team; I promise not to let the volleyball community down”, she added.

List Of Invited Players

Queen Agbo (Kada Emeralds), Helen Ishaya (Zamfara State), Fanny Stephen (Kada Emeralds), Constance Onyegwu (Scorpion Spikers), Mary Ishaku (LifeCamp VC), Joy Idakwo (Olalomi SuperVeronica Angels), Blessing Ezeulo (Delta Force), Gyamfi (Kada Emeralds), Blessing Manyi (Taraba State), Rejoice Harrison (Spartans Spikers), Chioma Samuel (Kada Emeralds), QueenMary Jolasun (Kwara United), Vanessa Okike (Legend Spikers), Dorcas Ayuba (Kada Emeralds), Joy Oweniyi (Olalomi Super Angels), Lilian Sobere (Trailblazer Spikers), Rose Elipawa (COAS Spikers), Success Chinke (Heartland VC), Faiza Yahaya (Kada Emeralds), Lilian Zarka (Olalomi Super Angles), Fortuna Augustine (Jikwoyi Braves), Sarah Kabiru (Games Village) and Petra Christopher (Jikwoyi Braves)