Nasarawa Amazons, United Supporters’ Club Leadership Inaugurated


The Nasarawa State Ministry of Youth and Sports Development, on Thursday, inaugurated the newly constituted leaderships of the Supporters’ Clubs of Nasarawa United FC and Nasarawa Amazons FC) following the approval of the reconstitution of the leaderships by the Commissioner for the Ministry, Amb. Lucky Isaac Yargwa, recently.

Yargwa, who inaugurated members of the new leaderships at the Conference Hall of the Ministry in Lafia, after the administration of oath of office, charged them to work towards ensuring the success and advancement of the two State-owned football teams in the domestic leagues.

He said members of the new leaderships were carefully selected to contribute their quota to the growth and development of the teams.

“We came up with a constitution that will guide every member of the leadership.

Amb Lucky Yargwa, Commissioner of Sports Nasarawa State

“Today, we are inaugurating an independent Supporters’ Club which will be affiliated with the Management of the Football Clubs, Ministry and State Football Association.

“You are to work in synergy with the affected football clubs, give them your maximum support, desist from any unwholesome practice, because it’s because of them you are existing as Supporters’ Club.

“The powers have been given to you to operate freely and lend your support to the teams unhindered.

“However, we don’t want a Supporters’ Club that is confrontational against the Football Clubs as such won’t be tolerated.”

The Commissioner called on them to pick clues from the last leadership and work towards exceeding all expectations in their new task and as well as justify the confidence reposed in them.

“Go out of your ways to generate fundings to add up to the support you will get from the State. Never wait until you get support from us before you swing into action.


“As for your vehicles, we are already doing everything to put them in workable state before the commencement of the new football league season to ease your movement.”

In his remarks, the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Isah Mohammed Eya, commended the Commissioner and the Committee set up to constitute the new leaderships for their timely intervention for the good of one of the major pillars of the two football clubs.

He tasked the new leaderships to be properly coordinated and abide by the code of conduct given to them as operational guidelines to function effectively.

Isah said the Ministry is aware of the significant roles the Supporters’ Club plays, hence the need to work with them in synergy for the success of the two football clubs owned by the State.

He revealed that the Ministry would continue to accord the new leaderships all the necessary supports they require to attain their aspirations.

Responding on behalf of the newly inaugurated leaderships, Jibril Ali ‘Baggio'(Chairman, Nasarawa United FC Supporters’ Club) and Adamu Shigafarta (Chairman, Nasarawa Amazons FC Supporters’ Club), both thanked the Commissioner and State Government for the opportunity given to them to serve the State.

They assured that the new leaderships would do everything within their powers to bring sanity to the Supporters’ Clubs, increase their support to the two football clubs for optimum performance, and introduce various innovative programmes to become the envy of the society.

The inaugurated members of the new leaderships who will serve for a tenure of three years include;


(i). Jibril Ali (Baggio) – Chairman

(ii). Yakubu John – Deputy Chairman

(iii). Ibrahim Muku – Secretary

(iv). Saidu Umar Zanzan – Assistant Secretary

(v). Mohammed Hassan Chatta – Financial Secretary

(vi). Abubakar Shafa Aso – Treasurer

(vii). Esther Tijjani – Welfare Officer

(viii). Usman Saleh Turaki – PRO

(ix). Abdullahi Isa Babangida – Organizing Secretary

(x). Hussaini Mohammed – Auditor

(xi). Yunusa Mohammed Jibrin – Ex-Officio 1

(xii). Abdulhamid Abubakar Ode – Ex-Officio 2

(xiii). Hussaini Yahaya – Ex-Offici 3


(i). Adamu Shigafata – Chairman

(ii). James Kuje – Deputy Chairman

(iii). Samuel Audu Shade – Secretary

(iv). Faruk Musa – Assistant Secretary

(v). Abdullahi Masallaci – Financial Secretary

(vi). Hamza Tanimu – Treasurer

(vii). Aisha Salihu – Welfare Officer

(viii). Abdulhamid Baba Ahmed – PRO

(ix). Dan’Azumi Gwamna – Organizing Secretary

(x). Shuaibu Usman Ozaki – Auditor

(xi). Salihu Abubakar Igga – Ex-Officio 1